2014-15 Contra Costa Civil Grand Jury

Nineteen citizens representing all citizens of Contra Costa County form a judicial branch of government known as the Grand Jury. Prior to their appointment for fiscal year 2014-2015, their applications were screened and they were interviewed by Superior Court Judges.

This Civil Grand Jury is an investigative body having for its objective the detection and correction of flaws in government. The primary function of the Grand Jury is to examine all aspects of county and city government, including special districts and joint powers agencies, to see that monies are handled judiciously and that all accounts are properly audited. The Grand Jury seeks to assure honest, efficient government in the best interest of the people.

The Grand Jury serves as an ombudsman for the citizens of the county by investigating complaints. To insure public input, all referrals are handled confidentially and all jurors are sworn to secrecy. Anyone may communicate with the Grand Jury by mailing a letter to: Contra Costa County Grand Jury, 725 Court Street, Martinez, CA 94553

An effort is made to have each of the five supervisorial districts of the county represented in this process. The members serving this year are:

District 1

Ollie F. Warner, San Pablo

Ronald W. Casimere, San Pablo

District 2

Frank N. Darling – Orinda

Lynda J. Hinds – Alamo

John A. Kidder – Orinda

Barbara M. Lemmer – Orinda

Dwight V. Nelsen – San Ramon

Sherry G. Rufini – Alamo

Michael F. Smith – Danville

David H. Van Etten - Lafayette

District 3

Juan S. T. Castillo – Brentwood

Laine E. Lawrence – Brentwood

Janet L. Melloni – Brentwood

District 4

Martin S. Brown – Walnut Creek

Carol J. Edlund – Walnut Creek

Randy E. Horton – Concord

Marc Santacroce – Concord

District 5

Lucinda H. Cartwright – Martinez

Judy Yamamoto - Hercules

Posted by on June 20, 2014. Filed under Community. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply