AB 662 Signed into Law

Bonilla Bill Expanding Access for the Physically Disabled Signed by Governor Brown                                           

SACRAMENTO – Assemblywoman Susan A. Bonilla (D-Concord) authored legislation this year ensuring that the basic human rights for individuals with physical disabilities are protected.  Assembly Bill,  AB 662, which expands public restroom accommodations to meet the health and safety needs for all, was signed into law by the Governor on Saturday.

“By expanding public restroom accommodations, people with physical disabilities and their families and friends are given the dignity and comfort to go about their daily lives,” said Assemblywoman Bonilla.  “These rudimentary human necessities are imperative for the health and well-being of our disabled community.”

AB 662 requires new commercial places of public amusement, with a maximum occupancy of 2,500 people or more, to install and maintain at least one adult changing station table for persons with a physical disability byJanuary 1, 2020.  Existing facilities with renovation projects that require permits or have estimated costs of $10,000 or more will not be required to install changing station tables until January 1, 2025.  Such commercial places of public amusement include auditoriums, convention centers, exhibition halls, sports arenas, and theatres.

“I thank Assemblywoman Bonilla for her direction and leadership on this legislation, which is long overdue for our state,” said Will Sanford, Executive Director, Futures Explored, Inc.  “We are ecstatic that the Governor has signed AB 662 for all individuals with personal care needs.”

“I cannot stress enough the importance of meeting the everyday needs of individuals throughout our communities,” said Bonilla.  “Being physically disabled should never be a deterrent or barrier to enjoying simple pleasures in life, such as attending sporting events, the movies, or civic engagements.” 

Assemblywoman Susan A. Bonilla (D-Concord) was elected in November 2010 and represents California’s 14th Assembly District, which includes Contra Costa County and Solano County.